majesty6Psalm 46:10-11 says this; “Be still and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth! The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress”

I recently got back from a vacation with my family to northern Michigan. We traveled through Wisconsin, the upper peninsula, over the Mackinaw bridge, and finally to our destination in Bay View, Michigan. We spent about a week and a half away, spending quality family time with each other. We did touristy things like visiting Mackinac Island, swimming in a COLD lake Michigan, chocolate tours, lavender farm tours, shopping in downtown Petowsky, and many others.

We kept busy with all this activity, but there were plenty of times that we spent at the house where we were staying, just playing games, watching movies, and reading.

And then there were moments like early morning coffee, scripture reading, conversations, and quiet time. Then there were sunset walks along the shores of Lake Michigan, either alone or with the family. And even a great night at something they call a “dark sky” park. This is a park which is dedicated to eliminating light pollution for spectacular sunset and star viewing.

It was in these moments when I heard this scripture passage, “Be still and know that I am God and I am with you.”

Now you have to know something about me and that is that I have not been on a family vacation for quite some time. In fact, it has been about ten years since we had been able to go as a family. I was either too busy working, to many activities, and over the past few years, I had school at seminary. There was no time for vacations, not to mention the lack of money to go anywhere.

But during this vacation I realized something during those quieter times, either alone or with the family, that it doesn’t have to be a full blown vacation, hundreds of miles away from home. It doesn’t have to cost a fortune, breaking the bank. All that is needed sometimes is a little time together with family to reconnect, and then a little time alone with God to reconnect with him.

We at Lanark UMC, earlier this year, spent some time on our out of control lifestyles, and the biggest thing that came out of that sermon series is the fact that we need to slow down and allow communication with God. But if we are too busy to take the time for this, we will never here the still small voice of God, who truly desires for us to connect with him.

Well, I was able to connect over this past couple of weeks. I saw beauty all around me, from Lake Michigan and all it has to offer, to sunsets, stars, forests, animals, smiles, and the faces of my family. I heard God speaking through the laughter, shouts of joy, waves crashing, and the gentle rain falling. God was all around me.

But then I realized something, God has always been around me, just as he is all around you. All we need to do is take a little time to stop, to be still and know that he is God.

So I want to encourage you to take 15 minutes out of your day, morning or evening or even in-between. Stop, or at least slow down, be still, and know that God is all around you. Look for him, listen for him, breathe him in.

“Be still and know that I am God!”